Ty Hunter and Raquel Smith Spill The Beans On Mrs. Carter World Tour Costumes

tumblr_n1twa3ucNA1rqgjz2o1_1280The Queen Bey recently released a vlog featuring her longtime stylist Ty Hunter, and wardrobe stylist Raquel Smith, as they take us through the many looks of her Mrs. Carter World Tour. The video details each piece designed by the likes of Givenchy, Emilio Pucci, Versace, and other notables. For those who aren’t familiar with the actual work and labor that goes into costume design, this would be a great watch!

If you’re a Beyonce fan, you’re likely familiar with Ty Hunter. Ty has been the force behind the many looks of Beyonce for over sixteen years. During an interview with Billboard, Ty speaks on being a visual merchandiser for a local Houston boutique before joining forces with Tina Knowles, who later brought him on to style for Destiny’s Child. He says, “It kind of beyonce-ty-hunterhappened by accident. I was actually living in Houston, Texas and I was doing window dressing and I met Ms. Tina when I was working at a store called Buiyahkah at the time in Houston. We just clicked instantly. I would contact her whenever we got pieces in that looked like Destiny’s Child at the time. I had a day off, I called her, and she was like, “What you doing?” and I said, “I’m off today, I’m seeing if you need help.” She was like, ‘Meet me here.’ The rest is history. The next week I was at the Grammys and it just fell into place.”

How crazy is that? You never know where that impromptu phone call, email, or handshake can take you.

Catch Ty and Raquel speaking about the Mrs. Carter World Tour costumes below:

Also, for a closer look at each costume check out Beyoncé’s Tumblr | Billboard

Leave a Reply

