[Meet] Morgan Pitts – The face behind #BlackGirlsWhoBlog

[Heart eyes]

photo-2

Meet Morgan Pitts, writer of CosMORGpolitan and face behind the award winning #BlackGirlsWhoBlog brand. I was introduced to Morgan via Twitter, and instantly fell in love with her style and unique opinion on trending topics in the fashion industry. Shortly after, our e-friendship was born. As a blogger, the repeated use of her hashtag #BlackGirlsWhoBlog immediately sparked my interest. According to their Instagram, #BlackGirlsWhoBlog is A solidarity brand tweeted into existence by Morgan Pitts to create a connection and sense of community amongst African American, women bloggers! Morgan took a simple hashtag and created something that would grow to become an amazing networking tool for a vast community of bloggers. In 2014, Morgan and #BlackGirlsWhoBlog was named Hashtag of the Year by the Black Weblog Awards; further expanding the brand awareness and bringing recognition to a hashtag that has created an avenue for many.

What inspired you to start CosMORGpolitan?

I was inspired to start cosMORGpolitan by some friends of mine in college. A couple of them told me that I should start a blog to document my outfits, almost like a portfolio. It definitely was something that I was interested in, but I wanted to wait until I graduated and had more time on my hands. Then, after I finished college, another friend of mine called me to catch up, and by the end of the conversation, she’d asked me to style her official Miss DC USA 2014 pageant photos. I thought that before I showcased me styling someone else, I should accumulate a few posts of me dressing myself, and the rest is (her)-story.

What fashion blogs do you visit on a regular basis?

I have a ton of fashion blogs that I subscribe to. A few of my favorites are Chanel Files by Chanel Butler, Cupcakes & Cashmere by Emily Schuman, Pink Peonies by Rachel Parcell, My Second Job Is Fashion by Christiana Hooks, and The Blonde Salad by Chiara Ferragni.

DSC04366

What celebrity best reflects your personal style?

I’d say that June Ambrose is the celebrity that best reflects my personal style. Her fun-loving, creative spirit shines through her outfits, and you can really gain a sense of who she is by the way that she dresses. She’s very whimsical-chic and a contemporary classic. More than anything, June is an individual who always stands out in the crowd by being herself, and I love that.

What trend do you hope goes out of style?

I wouldn’t be mad at all if the peplum trend went out of style, but I really hope that people trying to tell others what trends they can and can’t wear goes out of style. Shut up and do you …while letting everyone else live and do them.
DSC04456
Tell me about the #BlackGirlsWhoBlog movement and the inspiration behind it:
Well, I literally tweeted the #BlackGirlsWhoBlog hashtag into existence two months ago. I honestly thought nothing of it initially, but shortly after putting the idea into the universe, I expressed that I’d love to have a t-shirt that read “#BlackGirlsWhoBlog.” A friend of mine immediately asked me if an illustration should accompany the text, and I said absolutely. It was in that moment that I decided that this was something I had to run with and take seriously. People were already positively responding to the idea on Twitter, so I knew that I had to make it happen, and I did.
What is your ultimate vision for #BlackGirlsWhoBlog?
My ultimate vision is for it to reach its full potential, whatever that may be. #BlackGirlsWhoBlog has already exceeded my expectations because, well, I had no expectations. I’d like to get an official website and trademark the name, you know, all those formalities depending on the organic growth and response from the people. We’ll see what God has in store!
I’m sure by now you guys have fallen in love with Ms. CosMORGpolitan in more ways than one. All of my fellow bloggers be sure to hashtag Black Girls Who Blog; for more details on the brand, or to purchase a T-Shirt follow Morgan on Twitter + Instagram and be sure to visit her Blog over at CosMORGpolitan!
Leave a Reply

